Photo

Searching For The Right Place To Get Certified!

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 fitnessislife

fitnessislife

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 07:26 AM

Hi,

I'm looking to get Pilates certified. I would like to start out with just a basic mat certification. I live in San Diego and want to get certified as soon as possible. Does anyone know of any PMA schools teaching a class soon? I also can't attend classes on Saturdays, which is making things more difficult. Does anyone have recommendations for which school I should choose?  I am a kind of a beginner to this so any advice will help! 

#2 Tom Floyd

Tom Floyd

• Administrators
  • 2,746 posts

Posted 04 November 2015 - 12:23 PM

Some major certification organizations make the mat certification a prerequisite for comprehensive certification. Power Pilates, for instance, teaches mat certification over the course of two weekends. 

I know you said Saturdays are out for you, so that is probably going to be a problem.

You may find other options with easier attendance, but compare the substance of programs. You want more than a piece of paper saying you're certified.

Tom Floyd

#3 Pilatesgratz

Pilatesgratz

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 16 December 2015 - 02:39 PM

PMA is the best certification?

#4 Tom Floyd

Tom Floyd

• Administrators
  • 2,746 posts

Posted 16 December 2015 - 06:08 PM

PMA offers just a test, not a certification program. 

Tom Floyd

#5 Pilatesgratz

Pilatesgratz

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 16 December 2015 - 07:48 PM

That makes sense, and how does one get certification? Is there a requirement to do the PMA? Or can one train at a local studio and then take the PMA test?

#6 Tom Floyd

Tom Floyd

• Administrators
  • 2,746 posts

Posted 17 December 2015 - 06:23 AM

This issue is controversial, and I hope others will add to my response.