how long to fix kyphosis/lordosis?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mm

mm

• StudioBasic
  • 86 posts

Posted 12 October 2005 - 03:35 AM

hello everyobody. in your experience, how long does it take on average to fix a kyphotic/lordotic spine (say by training two to 3 times a week)? and in fact, can it really get fixed altogether, or does it just "get better". i am doing my matwork certification, so have no "past" experience. thanks in advance for sharing some of yours!

mm

#2 reinbeau

reinbeau

• Members
  • 1,157 posts

Posted 12 October 2005 - 08:39 AM

You too, huh? :D I've been practicing for six years now, and it's definitely better - I no longer sit humped and slumped :P Once I got the point of 'shoulders back and down' my neck stopped hurting - it's hard when you're head-forward all the time, the strain on your neck is incredible! My shoulders are no longer rounded forward, I'm still tight through the chest, though, and I can easily slip into a bit of a hump, but I'm so aware of it now I correct myself with little thought.

The lumbar spine still has quite a lordotic curve in it, but I can melt my lower ribs onto the floor finally. The pain I suffered from in my lower lumbar region is gone, too. I practive two to four times a week, depending on class availability and my schedule. It's a developing thing, I figure it took 43 years to get as bad as it did, so six years and counting, but it's such an enjoyable thing to me now I can't imagine I'll ever stop.

I am a Pilates evangelist now, it's done wonders for my back!
- Ann, Peak Pilates Certified Classical Instructor, student forever!

#3 mm

mm

• StudioBasic
  • 86 posts

Posted 12 October 2005 - 09:26 AM