Rods in back

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 jeansyoga

jeansyoga

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 20 April 2005 - 07:35 AM

I'm a beginning Pilates teacher (though I have been teaching yoga for a while), and last night after class a student came up to me and said "Sorry I couldn't do some of the exercises, I have a couple of steel rods in my back." Yikes!!!!

I'd probably be able to modify a lot of yoga poses for her, but I don't know enough about Pilates yet to be able to modify to that extent. We don't have any equipment (i.e. Reformers) at this gym, so all we offer are Basic Mat classes.

Is it even possible to modify the Pilates exercises for her? So many rely on the C-curve of the spine (especially rolling). Should she just avoid Pilates all together?

Thanks in advance!

#2 Tom Floyd

Tom Floyd

• Administrators
  • 2,706 posts

Posted 20 April 2005 - 07:59 AM

Hi Jeansyoga,

Do the rods extend through the whole spine to correct scoliosis? If so, spinal artculation would be impossible. I would definitely avoid the rolling exercises.

Not every Pilates exercise requires articulation: the hundred, single leg circles, stomach series, to name a few.

An attempt to do the rollup would require a hinge out of the hips or waist, rather than rolling through the spine. I'd like to hear from others as to the advisability of doing that.

Tom

#3 Carol

Carol

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 08:25 AM

Jeans yoga,

I am a Pilates instructor with rods in my spine from T4-L2. I was a pilates client for 10 years before I becamean instructor. I am Stott trained. If you have any specific questions, I am sure can answer them for you.

Carol

#4 Pilates Core

Pilates Core

• Administrators
  • 1,822 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 10:07 AM

I would probably tell that student that I was not comfortable teaching her in a group class format, for starters.