Stott Compared to Classical Pilates

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 ahchoy

ahchoy

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 14 August 2008 - 02:21 AM

Greetings from Singapore! I'm new to Pilates and I am so glad to have stumbled onto this forum. It is really nice to know that Pilates instructors have such a good sense of humour. I am certain that at my next reformer class, once the series of Long Box exercises starts, I will be in an uncontrollable laughing fit thinking about dead bugs and Jesus on the cross...oh help me!

I've only started learning Pilates 4 months ago AND I'M LOVING IT! The studio I go to in Singapore teaches the Authentic Pilates. After 20 private classes, I decided to explore the Stott type of Pilates. I was surprised by the differences...not just in the equipment, but also fundamentals like breathing (exhaling instead of inhaling at the start) and positioning of the feet (almost always parallel). Naturally, I was confused and wondered why the Stotts type of exercises evolved that way.

Personally I love the classical form and I understand why Joseph Pilates made each exercise a challenge - it's a work out! But I am also beginning to understand why modifications are needed at times. My Stotts instructor is able to immediately customise the hour's routine to address a particular problem my body has at that moment. I am thankful that I started with the classical form. I will continue to learn the Authentic Pilates for as long as I can (it is financially draining!!) because I feel that that should form my basic foundation in Pilates. But, I will also continue to explore with Stotts because...well, I have really good instructors from both studios and I enjoy all my sessions with them. That, to me, is good enough a reason.

Cheers and good health to all!

#2 gaile

gaile

• Moderators
  • 1,307 posts

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:51 PM